City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
September 30, 2002
Sarah Dearing wins the 2002 Toronto Book Awards
Sarah Dearing was named the winner of the City of Toronto's 2002 Toronto Book
Awards for her novel Courage My Love, published by Stoddart Publishing Co.,
Limited. Today, at The Word On The Street, Deputy Mayor Case Ootes presented
Ms. Dearing with $10,000 in prize money.

The Deputy Mayor also presented each short-listed author with a cheque for
$1,000. The six finalists are:

· Douglas Bell, Run Over: A Boy, His Mother and An Accident, Random House Canada
· Sarah Dearing, Courage My Love, Stoddart Publishing Co., Limited
· Jane Lind, Joyce Wieland: Artist on Fire, James Lorimer & Company Ltd.
· Eirin Moure, Sheep's Vigil by a Fervent Person, House of Anansi Press Limited
· Michael Redhill, Martin Sloane, Doubleday Canada
· Elizabeth Ruth, Ten Good Seconds of Silence, The Dundurn Group

Sarah Dearing is a Toronto based author whose first novel, The Bull Is Not
Killed, was published in Canada and in the United Kingdom. Courage My Love is
the story of Philippa Maria Donahue, an Irish-American newcomer to Toronto. She
throws aside her predictable marriage and condominium life in upscale Yorkville
for a life in Kensington Market. Changing her name to Nova Philip, she remakes
her life, sets up house in a rented room over a store and shapes her appearance
to match her new identity. She also learns the unique rhythms of Kensington
society and its colourful characters.

"Set in the heart of Kensington Market, Courage My Love is a moving and richly
layered novel," says John Farrell, co-chair of the judging committee. "Using
the voyage of one woman's search for herself as a backdrop, author Sarah
Dearing helps us to see the streets, the people and places of Kensington,
astonishingly, as if for the first time. It is a most worthy recipient of this
year's City of Toronto Book Award."

The Toronto Book Awards was established in 1974 by Toronto City Council to
honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of
Toronto. The award offers $15,000 in prize money. Past winners have included
Camilla Gibb, Timothy Findley, Carole Corbeil, Katherine Govier, Margaret
Atwood, Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, and last year's winner, A.B. McKillop.

Toronto Public Library has more than 20 copies of the 2002 Toronto Book Award
winner Courage My Love by Sarah Dearing, and multiple copies of all the books
on the 2002 shortlist. For more information or to place a hold on any of these
titles, visit one of their 98 branches or log on to the Toronto Public Library
Web site at

Media Contact
Access Toronto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2021