City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
November 25, 2005
Media Advisory - Human Rights Awards Presentation
Mayor David Miller, Deputy Mayor Sandra Bussin, Councillors Gay Cowbourne,
Janet Davis, Paula Fletcher, Gloria Lindsay Luby, Joe Mihevc, Jane Pitfield,
Kyle Rae and City Manager Shirley Hoy will honour the recipients of the City’s
Human Rights Awards. The ceremony will be hosted by Merella Fernandez, CityTV.

Date: Monday, November 28
Time: 5:30 p.m. - Presentations will begin at 5:40 p.m.
Location: Council Chamber, City Hall, 100 Queen St. W.

Awards will be presented in five categories to the following recipients.

Aboriginal Affairs Award
Simon McNichol
Native Learning Centre
Toronto Council Fire Native Cultural Centre

Access Award for Disability Issues
Argonaut Rowing Club
Community Head Injury Resource Services
VoicePrint Canada - Toronto Broadcast Centre Volunteers

Constance E. Hamilton Award on the Status of Women
Vivien Green
Marilda Tselepis

Pride Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Transsexual and Two
Spirited Issues
The Lesbian and Gay Community Appeal
Supporting Our Youth (SOY)
The Triangle Program

William P. Hubbard Award for Race Relations
Toronto Chapter - Chinese Canadian National Council
Akwatu Khenti

Media contacts:

Priscilla Cranley
Diversity Management and Community Engagement Unit

David Clark
Communications Officer

Ceta Ramkhalawansingh
Diversity Mangement and Community Engagement



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019