City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
May 21, 2004
Media Advisory: Cyclists gear up for Bike Week
The City of Toronto will launch Bike Week 2004 on Tuesday, May 25 with an
activity-filled day. The fun will begin with the annual group ride and free
pancake breakfast. Hundreds of cyclists will take to the roads to show their
support for a more bicycle-friendly city.

Mayor David Miller will participate in the activities, along with City
Councillors Shelley Carroll, Olivia Chow, Gay Cowbourne, Glenn De Baeremaeker,
Adam Giambrone, Paula Fletcher, Joe Mihevc and Jane Pitfield. Also
participating will be MPP David Zimmer and MP's Derek Lee and Tony Ianno.

Photo opportunities:

8 a.m. - Mayor David Miller and cyclists converge at Yonge and Bloor (from
various points across the city)

8:05 a.m. - group heads toward City Hall

8:30 a.m. - Mayor David Miller and cyclists arrive at Nathan Phillips Square

8:35 a.m. - Mayor David Miller will present the Toronto Cycling Committee with
the Bike Week Proclamation

11:30 a.m. - lunchtime cycling festival and fair on Nathan Phillips Square

The festivities will continue into lunchtime with music, guest speakers and
repair workshops. Representatives from the International Mountain Biking
Association, Heart and Stroke Foundation, Emergency Medical Services, Toronto
Public Health, Doors Open Toronto and Waterfront Regeneration Trust will

This year over 50 organizations and community groups have joined with the City
of Toronto, Ontario Power Generation and the Toronto Parking Authority to host
more than 100 cycling events.

Media contacts:
Aron Dunn, Bike Week facilitator, 416-338-5076 or 416-890-8480
Sean Wheldrake, Bicycle promotions co-ordinator, 416-392-1143 or



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019