City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
November 4, 2009
City of Toronto hosts Double Wicket Student Challenge cricket matches at Humber College to promote awareness for the Thackeray Park Cricket Ground

Sponsored by Scotiabank and Black Diamond and hosted by the City of Toronto and Humber College, the Double Wicket Student Challenge will provide students from eight North Etobicoke schools the opportunity to play a round robin of fast and entertaining cricket, competing for the honour to have a donation to the Thackeray Park Cricket Ground made in their school’s name.

Date: Friday, November 6
Time: semi finals and finals from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Location: Humber College Gymnasium
205 Humber College Blvd. (west off Hwy 27, south of Finch Avenue West), parking lot 9.

Cricket is one of the fastest growing sports in Toronto. With the help of the Partnership Opportunity Legacy fund, donations from individuals and corporations, and events like the Double Wicket Student Challenge, the City of Toronto will build a brand new space dedicated for cricket at Thackeray Park in North Etobicoke.

For information about the Thackeray Cricket Grounds visit:

Toronto is Canada's largest city and sixth largest government and home to a diverse population of about 2.6 million people. It is the economic engine of Canada and one of the greenest and most creative cities in North America. Toronto has won numerous awards for quality, innovation and efficiency in delivering public services. 2009 marks the 175th anniversary of Toronto's incorporation as a city. Toronto's government is dedicated to prosperity, opportunity and liveability for all its residents.

Media contact:
Parks, Forestry and Recreation media line 416-560-8726,



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019