City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
September 25, 2000
Camilla Gibb wins the 2000 Toronto Book Award
Camilla Gibb was named the winner of the City of Toronto's 2000 Toronto Book
Award for her novel Mouthing the Words, at the Word On The Street festival,
published by Pedlar Press. Councillor Pam McConnell, representing Mayor Mel
Lastman and Toronto City Council,
presented Camilla with a cheque for $8,000 in prize money.

Each of the 2000 short-listed authors received $1,000 in prize money. They are:
Jennifer Duncan, Sanctuary & Other Stories; Greg Gatenby, Toronto - A Literary
Guide; Camilla Gibb, Mouthing the Words; Conrad E. Heidenreich, Betty I. Roots
and Donald A. Chant, Special Places: The Changing Ecosystems of the Toronto
Region; Russell Smith, Young Men.

"This year we are proud to present the Toronto Book Award to a first novel that
was published by a small, local press. We chose the book because we felt it
deserved the prize, but are happy to encourage an emerging writer and a press
that was only founded a few years ago. We are glad that literature is
flourishing in Toronto and are delighted to be a part of the process," says
Jessamyn Kahn, chair of the Toronto Book Awards Judging Committee.

Camilla Gibb's first novel, Mouthing the Words tells the story of Thelma
Barley, an often mute girl who migrates to Toronto during the 1970s with her
parents and younger brother, and copes with life's uncertainties by developing
friendships with imaginary characters.

The Globe and Mail named Mouthing the Words as one of the Best Books of 1999.
Camilla's works have appeared in the National Post, the Globe and Mail,
Maclean's, Quill & Quire and Xtra Magazine. Her second novel, The Petty Details
of So-and-so's Life will be published in Spring 2002. She is currently working
on a collection of short stories and a book of creative non-fiction.

The Toronto Book Awards were established in 1974 by Toronto City Council to
honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of
Toronto. This prestigious award offers $15,000 in prize money this year, making
it one of the richest book awards in Canada. Past winners have included
Margaret Atwood, Robertson Davies, Timothy Findley, Katherine Govier, Anne
Michaels and Michael Ondaatje.

Media Contact
Access Toronto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019