City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
February 17, 2000
City of Toronto Invites Submissions for the 27th Annual Toronto Book Awards
The City of Toronto's Book Awards Committee is inviting publishers and authors
to submit books for consideration and review for the 27th Annual Toronto Book
Awards. To be eligible, books must be published between January 1 and December
31, 1999. The deadline for submissions is February 29, 2000.

The Toronto Book Awards Committee members review all books submitted. The
short-list finalists are announced in early September coinciding with
International Literacy Month. The winner of the 27th Annual Toronto Book Award
is announced at The Word On The Street Festival late in September.

The Toronto Book Awards were first presented by Toronto City Council in 1974 to
honor authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of
Toronto. In keeping with the United Nations' declaration, Toronto City Council
proclaimed 1990-2000 as the decade dedicated to the elimination of illiteracy
in the City of Toronto. To achieve this goal, the city continues to work with
their community partners on numerous literacy projects and initiatives
including the Toronto Book Awards.

These annual awards, offering $15,000 in prize money, are one of the richest
book awards in Canada. Each short-listed author (usually four to six) receives
$1,000 and the winning author is awarded the remainder (usually $9,000 to

Fiction and non-fiction books for adults and/or children are eligible.
Reprints, textbooks and manuscripts are not eligible. There are no separate
categories: novels, short story collections, books of poetry, biographies,
histories, social studies, children's books, books about sports, photographic
collections, etc., are judged together.

There are no entry forms to complete. Simply submit five (5) copies of the book
you consider eligible, along with both your own and your publisher's name,
address and phone number to:

Toronto Book Awards Committee, c/o Toronto Protocol Office, City Clerk's, 10th
Floor, West Tower, City Hall, Toronto, ON M5H 2N2.

The 1999 Toronto Book Award was presented to Richard Outram for his poetry
Benedict Abroad, published by The St. Thomas Poetry Series. Other past winners
include Margaret Atwood, Robertson Davies, Timothy Findley, Katherine Govier,
Anne Michaels, and Michael Ondaatje.

Media Contact
Access Toronto
(416) 338-0338



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019