City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
June 14, 2000
Community Council Option Forwarded to Toronto City Council for Consideration
The City of Toronto's Administration Committee recommended yesterday that
Toronto City Council establish eight new community councils for the new term of
City Council.

Forty-nine options were developed and forwarded to Administration Committee as
a result of comments received from the public and Members of Council. The
committee heard more than 20 deputations from the public at the meeting.
Specifically, the committee recommended that map option no. 49, establishing
eight community councils across the city, be approved. City Council will
consider the recommendation at its July meeting. The new community councils
will come into effect after December 1, 2000.

Community councils are committees of City Council that consider local issues at
the community level and provide a forum for local input into City Council's
decision-making. Currently there are six community councils - East York,
Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough, Toronto and York - one for each of the
former municipalities. Recent amendments to the City of Toronto Act change the
ward structure upon which the community councils must be based, necessitating
the current review.

For more information about the options, visit the City Web site at: http://www.cit

Media Contact
Acceess Toronto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019