City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
October 31, 2012
City Council approves citizen members to the Toronto Transit Commission
City Council, at its October 30 meeting, approved four citizen members to the Toronto Transit Commission. The citizen appointees are: Maureen Adamson, Nick Di Donato, Alan Heisey, and Anju Kumar Virmani.

Eligibility requirements for citizen members include the general eligibility requirements of the Public Appointments Policy as well as directorship and executive-level experience. In addition, the members must collectively represent a range of skills, knowledge and experience with one or more large organizations in the areas of strategic business management, including:

• transformative change management;
• financial management, accounting, law, engineering;
• customer service or marketing management;
• management or planning with a rail or public transit organization;
• formulation and/or management of public-private partnerships;
• capital project/construction management or capital procurement/supply chain management;
• operations and information technology;
• labour relations/industrial safety management;
• professional knowledge and working experience of urban sustainability, intersectionality and inclusive governance, and;
• understanding and/or experience with Toronto Transit Commission operations.

At its meeting in March, City Council increased the composition of the Toronto Transit Commission from seven to 11 members effective with the October 30 City Council meeting, by adding four citizen members appointed by Council. Citizen members will serve for a four-year term of office, generally coinciding with the term of the Council that makes the appointments, at the pleasure of City Council or until successors are appointed. The initial term of office for the appointments noted today will be for the balance of the 2010-2014 term of Council or until successors are appointed.

Toronto is Canada's largest city and sixth largest government, and home to a diverse population of about 2.7 million people. Toronto's government is dedicated to delivering customer service excellence, creating a transparent and accountable government, reducing the size and cost of government and building a transportation city. For information on non-emergency City services and programs, Toronto residents, businesses and visitors can dial 311, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Media Contact
Wynna Brown, Manager
Strategic Communications



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019