City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
March 8, 2002
City launches nominations for Women's Issues Award at International Women's Day reception
Today, the City of Toronto launched the nomination process for the 2002
Constance E. Hamilton Award at a reception to celebrate March 8 as
International Women's Day. The reception was hosted by the women members of
Council, who form the selection committee for the award.

The award is named after Constance E. Hamilton, who in 1920 was the first woman
elected to hold office at the municipal level in Toronto. A strong fighter for
women's suffrage, Constance E. Hamilton also served as the president of the
Equal Franchise League of Toronto.

Toronto City Council established the award in 1979 to mark the 50th anniversary
of the Persons Case. In 1929, a Privy Council decision required the federal
government to recognize women as "persons" according to the terms of the
Constitution Act, 1867.

The Constance E. Hamilton Award recognizes the contributions and actions of
Toronto residents taken to improve the status of women. Since the award was
established, the City has recognized the efforts of 45 people working to
improve the civic, economic, social, political and recreational life of women.
Previous recipients include Connie Guberman, Gerda Kaegi, Doris Anderson, Jane
Pepino, former Councillor Kay Gardner, Carmencita Hernandez, Joan
Grant-Cummings, Raheel Raza and Kowser Omer-Hashi.

A proclamation marking March 8 as International Women's Day in the City of
Toronto was issued by Mayor Mel Lastman.

Media Contact
Media contacts:
Councillor Pam McConnell, Chair, Status of Women Committee
Ceta Ramkhalawansingh, Manager, Diversity Management and Community Engagement



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019