City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
December 11, 2003
Mayor Miller presents Human Rights awards to community leaders
Mayor David Miller and the City of Toronto celebrated International Human
Rights Day this evening by awarding eleven citizens and three organizations
with Human Rights Awards. Mayor Miller presented a Human Rights Proclamation
declaring December Human Rights month. The recipients demonstrated an
exceptional commitment towards removing barriers to equality.

"Toronto has a history of advocacy for human rights that dates back to the
establishment of this city," stated Mayor Miller. "I intend to continue with
that tradition, because everyone in our society must be included in all aspects
of civic life. A healthy city is one that protects human rights and values
diversity." Mayor Miller was joined by councillors Shelley Carroll, Suzan Hall,
Pam McConnell, Joe Mihevc, Kyle Rae and Sylvia Watson.

This year two new awards were presented - the Aboriginal Affairs Award and the
Pride Award for Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Two Spirited Issues. Awards
were also presented for disability issues, on the status of women and for race

Award recipients:

Aboriginal Affairs Award - Gus Ashawasega, Ruth Ann Cyr and André Morriseau

Access Award for Disability Issues - Michelle Amerie, Lembi Buchanan and
Ethno-Racial People with Disabilities Coalition of Ontario (ERDCO)

Constance E. Hamilton Award on the Status of Women - Dr. Bonnie Burstow,
Filomena Carvalho and Margaret Murray

Pride Award for Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Two Spirited Issues - Reverend
Dr. Brent Hawkes, Lesbian Gay Bi Youth Line and T.E.A.C.H. (Teens Educating and
Confronting Homophobia)

William P. Hubbard Award for Race Relations - Pramila Aggarwal and Dr. George
J. Sefa Dei

Co-hosted by Juno-Award-winning artist Lillian Allen and by artist and literacy
advocate, Jerry Lee Miller, the ceremony began with an aboriginal honour song
performed by "Spirit Wind" - Rose Stella, Brenda McIntyre and Michele Perpaul.
The ceremony program closed with a "scissor dance" performed by "Los Danzaq de
Peru," and Pan Vibrations" of Jesse Ketchum Public School entertained the
guests during the reception.

For more information, visit or call
416-392-8592 (TTY: 416-338-0889).

For multilingual services, call Access Toronto: 416-338-0338.

Media contacts:
Ceta Ramkhalawansingh, Manager, Diversity Management and Community Engagement,
Chief Administrator's Office, 416-392-6824
Angela Kinnear, Diversity Management and Community Engagement, Chief
Administrator's Office, 416-392-1031



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
¬© City of Toronto 1998-2019