City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
September 1, 1998
Seven on short list for 1998 Toronto Book Award
Six authors and one illustrator have been named to the short list
for the 1998 Toronto Book Award, which is worth a total of $20,000 this year.

They are:

Carole Corbeil for her novel In the Wings published by Stoddart;

Joanne Gerber for her collection of short stories In the Misleading Absence of Light published by Coteau Books;

Helen Humphreys for her novel Leaving Earth published by HarperCollins;

Bruce McCall for his memoirs Thin Ice published by Random House;

Barbara Nichol for her children's book Dippers published by Tundra

Barry Moser for his illustrations for Dippers; and

Antanas Sileika for his novel Buying on Time published by The
Porcupine's Quill.

The short list was announced today at a reception at Grano Restaurant in
Toronto attended by authors, publishers, and representatives of the book
industry and the literacy movement.

The 1998 winner, chosen from this short list, will be announced Sunday,
September 27 at the Word On The Street festival in downtown Toronto.

The Toronto Book Award, which is sponsored by Toronto City Council, presents a
total of $20,000 in annual prizes to authors of books of literary or artistic
merit that are evocative of Toronto. Each member of the short list will
receive $1,000 and the winning author will receive an additional $13,000.

1998 marks the 25th anniversary of the Toronto Book Award. It was first
presented in 1974. Past winners include Margaret Atwood, Robertson Davies,
Timothy Findley, Katherine Govier, Anne Michaels, and Michael Ondaatje.

The five members of the Toronto Book Award Committee are Fern Gaspar, a human
rights consultant; Jessamyn Kahn, bookstore owner; Lorraine Johnson, writer and
editor; Manjusha Pawagi, lawyer and writer; and Evelyn Yates, writer.

Publishers and authors submitted 70 books for the committee's consideration.

Media Contact
Richard Frank
Toronto Corporate Communications
(416) 392-0468



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019