City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
October 1, 2001
A.B. McKillop wins the 2001 Toronto Book Awards
A.B. McKillop was named the winner of the City of Toronto's 2001 Toronto Book
Awards for his historical non-fiction book The Spinster and the Prophet,
published by Macfarlane Walter & Ross. Today, at The Word On The Street, City
of Toronto Councillor Maria Augimeri presented Mr. McKillop with a cheque for

Dennis Lee, the City of Toronto Poet Laureate, and Councillor Maria Augimeri
also presented each shortlisted author with a cheque for $1,000. The authors
and their works are: Margaret Atwood, The Blind Assassin; Catherine Bush, The
Rules of Engagement; Jean Cochrane (with photography by Vincenzo Pietropaolo),
Kensington; A.B. McKillop, The Spinster & the Prophet; and Tessa McWatt,
Dragons Cry.

Book Awards Committee co-chairs John Farrell and Nancy Vanderzwan explain the
judges' choice in this year's winner: "The Spinster and the Prophet is an
absorbing, compelling, knuckle-biting read from start to finish. By introducing
us to Frances Deeks and her remarkable struggle for justice in a male-dominated
literary world, the author leads us into a fascinating web of conflict, denial
and determination played out in Toronto courtrooms, libraries and institutions.
The Spinster & the Prophet is beautifully written, tremendously well researched
and lovingly crafted. McKillop's book is all that a City of Toronto Book Awards
winner should be: evocative, literary and wholly unique."

The Spinster and the Prophet was also nominated for the 2000 Governor General's
Award and was a finalist for both the Drainie-Taylor Biography Prize and the
Arthur Ellis Award for Best True Crime.

The Toronto Book Awards was established in 1974 by Toronto City Council to
honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of
Toronto. The award offers $15,000 in prize money. Past winners have included
Margaret Atwood, Robertson Davies, Timothy Findley, Camilla Gibb, Katherine
Govier, Anne Michaels and Michael Ondaatje.

For more informatin on the Toronto Book Awards, see

Media Contact
Access Toronto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019