City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
September 27, 2001
Media Advisory: Toronto Book Awards winner to be announced at The Word On The Street
City of Toronto Councillor Maria Augimeri and the City's Poet Laureate Dennis
Lee will announce the winner of the 2001 Toronto Book Awards at the Word On The
Street festival this Sunday.

Date: Sunday, September 30

Time: 11:30 a.m. (as part of the opening ceremonies)

Place: CityTV MainStage (corner of Queen and John Streets)

The five shortlisted authors are: Margaret Atwood, The Blind Assassin;
Catherine Bush, The Rules of Engagement; Jean Cochrane (photography by Vincenzo
Pietropaolo), Kensington; A.B. McKillop, The Spinster & The Prophet; and Tessa
McWatt, Dragons Cry.

According to the Toronto Book Awards Committee, all the authors' works are
evocative of Toronto, one of the criteria for the awards. Established in 1974,
the Toronto Book Awards honour authors of books that are of literary and
artistic merit, with a total of $15,000 in prize money.

The authors will be reading from their works in the City of Toronto tent at
Queen and St. Patrick Streets following the announcement. Schedule of readings:

12:30 p.m. 2001 Book Awards Winner
1:00 p.m. Camilla Gibb (2000 winner for Mouthing the Words)
1:30 p.m. Margaret Atwood
2:00 p.m. Tessa McWatt
2:30 p.m. Catherine Bush
3:00 p.m. A.B. McKillop
3:30 p.m. Jean Cochrane and Vincenzo Pietropaolo

Media Contact
Access Toronto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019