City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
February 19, 2001
Deadline approaching for Toronto Book Awards submissions
The City of Toronto is inviting publishers and authors to submit books by
February 28, 2001 for review and consideration for the 28th Annual Toronto Book
Awards. To be eligible, books must be published between January 1 and December
31, 2000.

The short-list finalists will be announced in early September coinciding with
International Literacy Month. The winner of the 28th Annual Toronto Book Awards
will be announced at The Word On The Street festival on September 30, 2001.

The Toronto Book Awards were first presented by Toronto City Council in 1974 to
honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of
Toronto. In keeping with the United Nations' declaration, Toronto City Council
has proclaimed 1990-2010 as the decades dedicated to the elimination of
illiteracy in the City of Toronto. To achieve this goal, the City continues to
work with its community partners on numerous literacy projects and initiatives
including the Toronto Book Awards.

These annual awards offer $15,000 in prize money. Each short-listed author
(usually four to six) receives $1,000 and the winning author is awarded the
remainder. Fiction and non-fiction books published in English for adults and/or
children are eligible. Reprints, textbooks and manuscripts are not eligible.
There are no separate categories -- novels, short story collections, books of
poetry, biographies, histories, social studies, books about sports, children's
books, photographic collections, etc., are judged together.

There are no entry forms to complete. Simply submit six copies of the book you
consider eligible, along with the author's and the publisher's name, address,
phone number, fax number and e-mail address to Toronto Book Awards Committee,
c/o Toronto Protocol, City Clerk's, 10th Floor, West Tower, City Hall, Toronto,
ON M5H 2N2.

The 2000 Toronto Book Award was presented to Camilla Gibb for her novel
Mouthing the Words, published by Pedlar Press. Other past winners include Helen
Humphreys, Anne Michaels, Timothy Findley, Michael Ondaatje and Richard Outram.

Media Contact
Access Toroonto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019