City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
April 5, 2001
Customer Appreciation Night and Toronto Dollar Party at the St. Lawrence Market
The merchants of the St. Lawrence Market will host a party in appreciation of
their loyal customers and to celebrate the success of the Toronto Dollar
program at the South St. Lawrence Market on Thursday, April 5 from 6:30 to 9:30

The evening's program includes free food sampling, entertainment by nine
cultural groups, a cooking demonstration by "The Food Guys" from CFRB and a
raffle and prize draws. Community groups who benefit from the Toronto Dollar
will also be on hand to explain how the whole community benefits.

CityTV reporter Adam Vaughan will host the evening's festivities. Former Mayor
Barbara Hall will announce the winners of the Frankly Bob Awards (for
excellence in the written and visual arts), the Elaine Hall Caring Services
Award (for exceptionally caring volunteers) and the Toronto Dollar "Spirit at
work" awards. Councillor Pam McConnell (Ward 28, Toronto Centre-Rosedale) will
bring greetings from the Mayor and present the winners with scrolls.

Invitations are free and available at participating Toronto Dollar businesses
and St. Lawrence Market merchants. The event is by invitation only.

The Toronto Dollar is a local currency developed by St. Lawrence Works.
Shoppers exchange Canadian dollars at par for Toronto dollars. Ten per cent of
the exchange is set aside in the Toronto Dollar Community Trust Fund to support
local community groups.

The South St. Lawrence Market is located at 95 Front St. East at Jarvis Street.
Free parking is available at the Toronto Parking Authority, located at the
bottom of Market Street (below The Esplanade).

Media Contact
Access Toronto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019