City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
April 26, 2006
City appoints six directors for TEDCO
Toronto City Council is announcing six new appointees to the Board of Directors of the City of Toronto Economic Development Corporation (TEDCO) for a three-year term commencing June 12. They are: Rowland Fleming (Chair); Helen Burstyn; Alexandra Dagg, Aladin Mawani; David J. McFadden and Norman Seagram. (see backgrounder below).

“TEDCO enables the City of Toronto to implement its broader economic development strategy and is a catalyst for new employment-related investment,” said Toronto Mayor David Miller. “TEDCO encourages new employment in key industries and stimulates reinvestment in strategic and underutilized lands to create ‘development-ready’ sites.”

“The city of Toronto is a dynamic, exciting and cutting edge location for corporations to do business in,” said Chair Rowland Fleming. “Having spent most of my business career in the city of Toronto, I look forward to working on behalf of the people of Toronto to promote the City’s economic development strategy and capitalizing on its many advantages and successes.”

TEDCO has successfully developed and leased out the first City-owned “green-building” on a brownfield site in south Etobicoke thus retaining the Canpar logistics facility and successfully negotiating a ground lease to create a major film studio complex in the Portlands with construction slated to begin this summer.

Incorporated under the Ontario Business Corporations Act, TEDCO acts as the City’s arms-length land agency to promote development and to attract and retain jobs in the city of Toronto. TEDCO, wholly owned by the City of Toronto, owns over 400 acres of land in Toronto and leases properties to more than 75 businesses.

Following an open and public recruitment process with almost 200 applications, the City’s Corporations Nominating Panel chaired by Deputy Mayor Sandra Bussin, recommended the appointments of the six new directors. The Corporate Nominating Panel also includes Councillor Cliff Jenkins and Councillor Bill Saundercook.

TEDCO’s Board of Directors in its collectively have demonstrated expertise in commercial real estate and land development and experience in legal, business, environmental and financial management matters. Directors are chosen for their general business acumen, personal integrity and judgment.


City appoints six directors for TEDCO

Rowland Fleming (Chair)
Director and Vice-Chairman, Export Development Canada
Former President and Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Stock Exchange
Former Deputy Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Trust Co.
Former Executive Vice-President, Bank of Nova Scotia
Former Director, Junior Achievement of Greater Toronto
Former Director, Greater Toronto Marketing Association

Helen Burstyn
Chair, Ontario Trillium Foundation
President, Public Projects
Former Senior Advisor, Office of the Premier of Ontario
Former Partner, Advance Planning/MS&L

Alexandra Dagg (Designate of the Labour Council of Toronto and York Region)
Canadian Co-Director, UNITE HERE
International Executive Vice-President, UNITE HERE
Member, Advisory Council, Policy Studies Programme, Queen’s University
Canadian Labour Congress delegate to International Labour Organization Symposium on Trade Unions and the Informal Sector, Geneva

Aladin Mawani
Managing Partner, Exponent Capital Partners Inc.
Director, Calloway REIT
Director, Boardwalk Equities Inc.
Director, IPC US Income Commercial REIT
Former Executive Vice-President, Oxford Properties Group

David J. McFadden (Incumbent)
Partner, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
Chair, Ontario Centres of Excellence Inc.
Director, 407 International Inc.
Former Chair, Toronto Board of Trade
Former Chair, Second Mile Club of Toronto

Norman Seagram
Chair, Hydrogenics
Director, Canadian Foundation of International Management
Member, Council for Business and the Arts in Canada
Member, Toronto Symphony Orchestra Foundation
Former President and Chief Executive Officer, The Molson Companies Limited

Media contact:

Anne McLaughlin
Corporate Communications



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019