City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
February 24, 2006
Municipal workers honoured for making the city safer
At a ceremony held at City Hall last night, supporters of the CityWatch program celebrated the contributions that eight Toronto municipal employees have made to community safety.

Jason Cooper, an office worker in customer service, was chosen overall winner of the CityWatch Annual Award from among the employees who received monthly CityWatch awards in 2005.

Mayor David Miller offered his congratulations to all the award recipients, saying, “You chose to get involved and respond to people when they were most in need. It’s this kind of community spirit in City staff that makes Toronto such a great place to live and to call home.”

Master of ceremonies Mark Dailey of Citytv introduced each of the monthly winners. The awards were presented by City Manager Shirley Hoy, Ontario’s Chief Justice Roy McMurtry, and Monte Kwinter, Ontario’s Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.

The winner of the annual award, Jason Cooper, is a member of CUPE Local 79, a partner in the CityWatch program. Jason performed the Heimlich maneuver to dislodge food from the windpipe of a child who was choking violently. The incident occurred in a restaurant where Jason was having lunch near his workplace. As a result of his intervention, the girl coughed up a french fry and recovered her breath.

CityWatch sponsor Bell Canada rewarded Jason with a personal gift and contributed $1,000 to his charity of choice - the Terry Fox Foundation. “Terry Fox was a hero to me when I was growing up,” Jason said during the presentation. He was chosen for the annual award from among recipients of regular monthly CityWatch awards in 2005.

The other municipal employees who were honoured for their contributions to community safety in 2005 were Corrado Amato and Aiyadurai Sivapalan of the City’s Toxics Taxi program; Travis Keay and Paul Murphy of the Toronto Zoo; Rob Signoretti of Transportation Services; and Justin Naulls and Tom Koidhis of Corporate Security.

CityWatch encourages municipal employees to take the initiative to notify emergency personnel when they see or suspect an emergency or criminal activity. Anyone can nominate a municipal worker for CityWatch recognition. (Mailing address: CityWatch, 14 East, City Hall, 100 Queen St. W. Toronto M5H 2N2; e-mail:; website:

The CityWatch program supports the Toronto’s Community Safety Plan. More information about the Community Safety Plan is available at

Media contacts:

Manjit Jheeta
Community Safety Secretariat

Maya Roy
CityWatch Administrator



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019