City of Toronto  

Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall
All news releases
Last 30 days
By month
Archived news release by year
  2012 - 2011 - 2010
  2009 - 2008 - 2007
  2006 - 2005 - 2004
  2003 - 2002 - 2001
  2000 - 1999 - 1998
RSS identifier linked to feed RSS
February 9, 2006
Deadline for Toronto Book Awards, February 28
Publishers and authors are invited to submit books for the 2006 Toronto Book Awards. The deadline for submissions is Tuesday, February 28 at 5 p.m.

The Toronto Book Awards honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit which are evocative of Toronto. The annual awards offer $15,000 in prize money. Each finalist receives $1,000 and the winning author receives the remaining prize money.

To be eligible, books must be published between January 1 and December 31, 2005. There are no separate categories: novels, short story collections, books of poetry, biographies, histories, social studies books about sports, children's books, photographic collections are judged together. Reprints, textbooks and manuscripts are not eligible. To enter, submit six copies of a book that meet the criteria, along with your name, address, phone number, fax number and e-mail address to:

Toronto Book Awards Committee
c/o Toronto Protocol
City Clerk's Office
2nd floor, West, City Hall
100 Queen St. W.
Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

David Bezmozgis won the 2005 Toronto Book Awards for his story collection Natasha and Other Stories, published by HarperCollins Publishers. Previous winners include Margaret Atwood, Kevin Bazzana, Sarah Dearing, Robertson Davies, Timothy Findley, Joe Fiorito, Camilla Gibb, Katherine Govier, A.B. McKillop, Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje and Kate Taylor.

Find out more about the Toronto Book Awards at

Media contact:

Bev Kurmey
Protocol Officer
City of Toronto



Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links
© City of Toronto 1998-2019