Archive Doors Open Toronto 2011    


St. George the Martyr Anglican Church
197 John Street N, Toronto, ON M5T 1X6
Telephone: 416-598-4366

District: South (former City of Toronto and East York)

Architect and year:
Henry Bower Lane, 1845

Open:
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Last admittance to building: 4:30
Sunday: 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Last admittance to building: 4:30

The original gothic style church was built in 1845, along with a school house (1875) and rectory (1865). The original church burnt down in 1955, but the spire was saved and still serves as a local landmark at the south entrance to The Grange.
After the fire the congregation met in the lounge of the Rectory until the school house could be converted into the church in 1987. This conversion was part of a building project that includes the addition of a new office complex, apartments, parish hall and landscaped courtyard on the site of the old church.
The new complex forms a cloister around a landscaped garden with the gothic style church tower or spire at the west end and the open beamed former school house church on the east end. The cloistered garden forms a lovely quiet open-air sanctuary and the church provides a warm and inviting community space in the heart of the city.
The buildings are presently extensively used as a church, for music and arts events and recordings, and for a range of community functions. In addition, the cloistered gardens function as an easily accessible small park within the neighbourhood.

Event information:
Visitors to St. George the Martyr will experience the opportunity to enjoy the church's distinct architecture in the form of the gothic style tower, the cloister and the renovated church with its collection of furnishings saved from the 1955 fire and its clear and open layout that is defined by the open roof beams and striking stained glass windows.
On the Sunday visitors can enjoy the church space in terms of its primary use for worship at either the 9:00am or 10:30am services or they can join in an open-air service in the cloistered garden at 4:30pm in the afternoon.

Photography permitted: Yes  tripod: YesFilming permitted: No   tripod: No
Map:

TTC (nearest station) Osgoode or St Patrick Bus/streetcar: Queen West and John St

Visit their web site: (None available)

Accessibility: Full   Washrooms: Yes   Parking: None   Highlights:

 

Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links | Privacy statement
© City of Toronto 1998-2011